Grand phases on the sun: a ‘mechanism” for unlocking more secrets on space weather?

As the co-author of the book that detailed the life of pioneering solar scientist E. Walter Maunder (The Maunder Minimum and the Variable Sun-earth Connection: World Scientific Press, 2004) I want to let you know that after two years’ interpreting the data and papers of Distinguished Solar Scientist Cornelis de Jager of the Netherlands (Janssons Medal winner, Royal Society Gold Medal winner, Hale Prize recipient) I present a low-cost book detailing some of his last and perhaps most important work.

 

Is there another repeatable cycle in the sun that could give us better clues regarding coming grand phases on the sun – or to be able to predict with more certainty than before “space weather”? De Jager believes so, due to tachocline and inertial (core) motion and transitions at precise points on the sun that herald chaotic – versus less chaotic – quasi harmonic symmetries (Hale/Gleissberg). Included are new insights into the Hallstatt Cycle (using Lockwood data) which may portend better news than expected regarding relegation to long-term deep solar minima. Knowing partially in advance of what might be transpiring on the sun means better preparation for protecting satellites, earth fuel-line links, earth-based electrical grids, and astronauts and space tourists.

 

As usual with my writing a good amount of solar science history is recounted in this work, along with summary implications for present space-based solar research (e.g. NASA’s SDO), the problems posed by our continuing limited grasp in knowing how our atmosphere works, and any human cultural and technological impacts that might arise on the horizon. This book is not a polemic but attempts at all hazards a balanced view on the current dichotomy regarding the troubling Sun-earth connection.

 

This is a short, low-cost, must-read in solar science in that crucial, often-forgotten holistic sense in the tradition of Kepler, and Heschel.

 

Please ask any interested parties to review it online at Amazon.com.

 

 

https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Steven-Haywood-Yaskell/407976212610290

 

Cordially,

 

Steven Haywood Yaskell

 

Prof. Peter A. Ziegler: Solar effects drive climate change not CO2

The k2p blog

Prof. Peter Ziegler (b. 1928) is a Swiss geologist  and Titular Professor of Global Geology at the Geological-Paleontological Institute, University of Basel. He is a member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences, the Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences and the Academia Europaea. His presentation on the “Mechanisms of Climate Change” from February this year is pretty self-contained and self explanatory and my comments would only be superfluous.

Climate Change Ziegler 2013 (pdf)

I reproduce his conclusions slide below:

  • Climate change during industrial times can be fully explained by natural processes
  • During the last 550 Million years major natural climate changes involved large fluctuations in temperature and atmospheric CO2 concentrations
  • Apart from orbital forcing and the distribution of continents and oceans, variations in solar activity and the galactic cosmic ray flux controlled climate changes during the geological past and probably still do so
  • Despite rising atmospheric CO2 concentrations we may experience during the 

View original post 80 more words