Grand phases on the sun: a ‘mechanism” for unlocking more secrets on space weather?

As the co-author of the book that detailed the life of pioneering solar scientist E. Walter Maunder (The Maunder Minimum and the Variable Sun-earth Connection: World Scientific Press, 2004) I want to let you know that after two years’ interpreting the data and papers of Distinguished Solar Scientist Cornelis de Jager of the Netherlands (Janssons Medal winner, Royal Society Gold Medal winner, Hale Prize recipient) I present a low-cost book detailing some of his last and perhaps most important work.

 

Is there another repeatable cycle in the sun that could give us better clues regarding coming grand phases on the sun – or to be able to predict with more certainty than before “space weather”? De Jager believes so, due to tachocline and inertial (core) motion and transitions at precise points on the sun that herald chaotic – versus less chaotic – quasi harmonic symmetries (Hale/Gleissberg). Included are new insights into the Hallstatt Cycle (using Lockwood data) which may portend better news than expected regarding relegation to long-term deep solar minima. Knowing partially in advance of what might be transpiring on the sun means better preparation for protecting satellites, earth fuel-line links, earth-based electrical grids, and astronauts and space tourists.

 

As usual with my writing a good amount of solar science history is recounted in this work, along with summary implications for present space-based solar research (e.g. NASA’s SDO), the problems posed by our continuing limited grasp in knowing how our atmosphere works, and any human cultural and technological impacts that might arise on the horizon. This book is not a polemic but attempts at all hazards a balanced view on the current dichotomy regarding the troubling Sun-earth connection.

 

This is a short, low-cost, must-read in solar science in that crucial, often-forgotten holistic sense in the tradition of Kepler, and Heschel.

 

Please ask any interested parties to review it online at Amazon.com.

 

 

https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Steven-Haywood-Yaskell/407976212610290

 

Cordially,

 

Steven Haywood Yaskell

 

Advertisements

One thought on “Grand phases on the sun: a ‘mechanism” for unlocking more secrets on space weather?

  1. Pingback: Grand phases on the sun: a ‘mechanism” for unlocking more secrets on space weather? | syaskell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s